The Mayor and Council recently took action to protect residential renters during the COVID-19 emergency, passing an ordinance to temporarily suspend rent increases at licensed rental properties through July 31.
Under the new legislation, no rents may be raised through July 31. From Aug. 1, until 180 days after the state of emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic is lifted, rents may be raised by no more than 2.6%.
For more information, contact the city’s divisions of Code Enforcement at 240-314-8330 or Landlord-Tenant Affairs at 240-314-8320.
The Landlord-Tenant Specialist administers, implements, and adjudicates Landlord-Tenant issues. Complaints and other inquiries are received, and advice and assistance is offered to both landlords and tenants. The Landlord-Tenant Specialist will decide the appropriate action necessary to address such issues.
For advice and assistance, the rental property must be located within Rockville city limits.
If a landlord will not make necessary repairs to a rental property, contact Code Enforcement at 240-314-8330.
All other complaints can be made by completing the Landlord- Tenant Complaint Form.
Up to five people, who are unrelated, can live together in a single-family home, sharing one kitchen.
A security deposit is a sum of money paid to the landlord that can be used to pay for damages to the property, violation of lease agreements, or non-payment of rent. The security deposit cannot be used to pay the last month's rent.
Once the lease has ended, the landlord has up to 45 days to return the security deposit. If any amount of the deposit is withheld for charges, the landlord must provide the tenant with a written, itemized list of charges. It is the responsibility of the tenant to notify the landlord of their updated address.
Security deposit interest rates are determined by the U.S. Treasury Yield Curve Rates. Use the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development calculator to find the accrued cost.
Rent Payments and Increases
Rent can only be increased once every 12 months. To increase the cost of rent, the landlord must notify tenants, in writing, at least 90 days in advance.
The rent must be more than 10 days past due for a landlord to impose a penalty. The late penalty cannot exceed 5 percent of the monthly rent.
Landlords may file a Failure To Pay Rent action in District Court of Maryland. Filing a Failure To Pay Rent action does not have a time restriction and can be filed after only one day past due date.
Notice to Vacate
Both the landlord and the tenant must give written notice as required by the lease to vacate a property. Typically, single-family homes will require one month's notice and two month's notice for multi-family homes. However, a notice to vacate can vary, and the exact requirements will be documented in the lease agreement.
A termination fee of up to two month's rent can be charged to the tenant if they terminate the lease early. Terminating a lease due to a job transfer or location change can result in a termination fee of up to one month's rent.
Military Change of Station Order
A change of station order exceeding 90 days requires a 30-day written notice to the landlord. If a tenant has given a 30-day notice, the landlord cannot issue a termination fee.
Specific provisions will be documented in the lease agreement.
To check whether an address was issued an eviction, contact the Montgomery County Sheriff's Office at 240-777-7000.