Rockville Sister City Corporation

The City of Rockville formed a formal Sister City relationship with Pinneberg, Germany, in 1957, making it one of the most enduring Sister City relationships in the world. In 1986, the Rockville Sister City Corporation was incorporated as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit service organization, with a mission to support local inclusion of Rockville’s diverse cultural communities into the Sister City Program and to facilitate the continuing relationship between the citizens of Rockville and Rockville’s Sister Cities. In 2009, Rockville began informal friendly relations with Jiaxing, China (PRC). In 2019, Rockville and Yilan City, Taiwan, formed a formal Sister City relationship. Correspondence, exchanges and cultural activities between Rockville and Rockville’s Sister Cities are overseen by the Rockville Sister City Corporation.

In accordance with its bylaws, the Rockville Mayor and Council appoint as many as three directors. The remaining directors are elected by its membership. Terms are for three years and are staggered. Membership in the corporation is open to all those who embrace the spirit of Rockville’s Sister City Program, which includes, mutual understanding, unity through peace and cooperation, as well as the continuation of the Rockville Sister City Corporation.

Rockville Sister City Corporation
111 Maryland Ave.
Rockville, MD 20850
Third Wednesday at 7:00 p.m.


Term Expiration**
Drew PowellPresidentSeptember 2020
Gilbert SantiagoVice PresidentSeptember 2021
John McKenzie
TreasurerSeptember 2022
Steve FisherSecretarySeptember 2022
Elizabeth von Kaenel*DirectorApril 1, 2021
Marika Brown*DirectorSeptember 1, 2020
Sean LinDirectorSeptember 2022
Sue-Ann NorianDirectorSeptember 2022
Bingjib "Bing" HuangDirectorSeptember 2020
Chris MaloneDirectorSeptember 2020
John (Jack) RodgersDirectorSeptember 2020
Christian Jessen-KlingenbergDirectorSeptember 2021
David TangDirectorSeptember 2021
Kuan LeeDirectorSeptember 2021

*Appointed by Rockville Mayor and Council.
**For Rockville Mayor and Council appointees, the exact expiration of term is provided.  All other terms expire upon the RSCC Annual Meeting in the year indicated. 


Councilmember Beryl Feinberg
Rockville Mayor and Council Liaison
Paige Janzen
Rockville Staff Liaison